The return of Khokababu(Best of Tagore)

Recently, I read a translated book of Rabindranath Tagore’s collection of short stories, The Return of Khokababu by Sipra Bhattacharya. I was completely enthralled reading the chapters, so much so that for a minute I did not want to abandon it and wanted to finish it uniterrupted. Needless to say, this book is one of my most prized possessions now. Simple language, touching stories & characters are portrayed with great sensitivity. Tagore has taken us through…possibly all shades & emotions of life in this collection of short stories.

Most of the tales have women as protagonists of 19th century from Bengal, very poignant & subtle by nature. Their plight of endurance, everyday struggle, unexpressed desires, woven delicately in the form of the tales; indeed touched my heart. But, I also loved Tagore’s imaginary world, sometimes as “Highway”, sometimes as “The Ghat” .  An excerpt from The Highway’s Tale reads as ” I allow nothing to remain – neither laughter nor tears. I only let myself remain, alone, for ever.” There are several such thought provoking lines in the book, that I have underlined them (Out of habit).

No, I do not have the audacity to review such a literary genius’ body of work. These were some of my thoughts after finishing the book, that I wanted to record.

15 thoughts on “The return of Khokababu(Best of Tagore)

Leave a Reply

